What Is Personal Injury Protection?
Florida is one state that requires that all drivers who register a car in the state carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Despite it being a requirement for all drivers, not everyone is aware of how PIP works, the benefits it provides, or the limitations of this type of coverage. At Earnhart Law in Delray Beach, our knowledgeable car accident attorneys are here to help ensure that you get the most from PIP coverage as well as any additional compensation necessary to cover your claims. To learn more, call the office or contact us today to schedule a free evaluation of your personal injury claims.
Defining PIP Coverage
Personal Injury Protection is a form of no-fault auto insurance that every driver must carry. Florida is one of ten states that requires PIP coverage for its drivers. As no-fault insurance, a person injured in an auto accident can receive up to eighty percent of their immediate medical costs covered, up to the $10,000 coverage limit. This applies regardless of who caused, or is at-fault, for the crash. PIP coverage can also cover lost wages if an injured person is unable to work immediately after the accident as well as death benefits in the worst case scenario when someone dies as a result of the crash.
Most medical expenses are covered by personal injury protection coverage, including but not limited to the following:
- Medical services
- Surgical services
- Hospital expenses
- Rehabilitation costs
- Diagnostic services
- Ambulatory services, and more.
For lost wages, PIP coverage provides for sixty percent of income lost, up to the $10,000 coverage limits. When covering death benefits, personal injury protection will provide up to $5,000 for funeral and burial costs.
How to File a PIP Claim
There are very strict rules and regulations when it comes to filing a claim for damages under PIP coverage in Florida. First, personal injury protection coverage is only available for medical costs and lost wages that are incurred within two weeks of the date of the accident. The insurer has up to sixty days to investigate the claims, but it must pay within thirty days. Documentation may be required to prove the extent of injuries and expenses in order to receive PIP compensation, including documentation of all medical expenses and injuries as well as wage and salary verification for lost income. An experienced personal injury attorney can ensure that the proper documentation is submitted in order to receive personal injury protection coverage and handle all communication with the insurance companies during this time. If there is a dispute about the extent of a victim’s injuries or their claims, a lawyer is the best person to handle those legal matters. To learn more about all the ways that an attorney can help with a PIP claim, talk to our office today.
Call or Contact Us Now
Have you been injured in a car accident and need to file a claim for PIP coverage? If so, the experienced Delray Beach personal injury attorneys at Earnhart Law can help. Call or contact us today to learn more.